Vivaldi – The Four Seasons
Piazzolla – The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

An intoxicating evening combining old & new: Vivaldi’s ever-popular masterpiece intermingled with Piazzolla’s incredible, tango-inspired Argentinian seasons.

*** Bachianas Brasileiras concert-opener added ***

Turner Sims, Southampton
Saturday 22 October 2016
7.30pm (NB note start time – Turner Sims concerts usually begin at 8pm)

Part of the Reimagined : Recomposed Series

Heitor Villa-Lobos – Preludio (Introdução) from Bachianas Brasileiras No 4 
Antonio Vivaldi – 
The Four Seasons
Ástor Piazzolla – Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires) Arranged Leonid Desyatnikov for String Orchestra

Daniel Rowland Violin & Director
Robin Browning Conductor (Piazzolla only)

or call the Turner Sims box office on 023 8059 5151

More Concert details

Antonio Vivaldi – The Four Seasons

Concerto No. 1 in E major, Op. 8, RV 269, “La primavera” (Spring)
Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 8, RV 315, “L’estate” (Summer)
Concerto No. 3 in F major, Op. 8, RV 293, “L’autunno” (Autumn)
Concerto No. 4 in F minor, Op. 8, RV 297, “L’inverno” (Winter)

Ástor Piazzolla – Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires)

“Verano Porteño” (Buenos Aires Summer)
“Otoño Porteño” (Buenos Aires Autumn)
“Primavera Porteña” (Buenos Aires Spring)
“Invierno Porteño” (Buenos Aires Winter)

Our Autumn launches at Southampton’s Turner Sims, home of our sell-out debut, with an engaging mix of old and new: Seasons by Vivaldi and Piazzolla, Italian and Argentinian – 8 in all.

Renowned virtuoso soloist, director and chamber musician Daniel Rowland combines Vivaldi and Piazzolla in this evening of Seasons with a difference. Whilst most will know the Vivaldi, the Piazzolla are lesser known gems. Vivid and colourful, they’re full of intoxicating depictions of the Argentinian capital throughout the year – and they’re a fresh way of re-framing the more familiar vistas of Vivaldi.

This concert forms part of the són “Reimagined & Recomposed” series – a pivotal part of our 2016-17 season – making a perfect pair with our presentation of Max Richter‘s Four Seasons Recomposed coming to Turner Sims during Spring 2017. Find out more details of this and other events in our new concert series by signing up for our eNews, and keep in touch with us on facebook and twitter.